Return to Headlines

Students Selected for National, All-State, and Area All-State Ensembles

Many Brighton students were selected to perform with New York State School Music Association (NYSSMA) Area All-State and All-State bands, orchestras, and choirs this fall. Additionally, one student was selected to perform in a National Association for Music Education (NAfME) ensemble.

On Nov. 1 and 2, students in grades 7-9 will participate in the NYSSMA Junior High Area All-State Festival at Greece Olympia High School. They are: Sasha Williams, Allison Fan, Jenna Chan, Joanna Frank, Gavin Ng, Alina Ying, Nathan Ruchlin, Philani Gqamana, Ava Mendler, Gracie Conn, Lily Fitzpatrick, Sophie Hilger, Malachy McDade Clay, Maya Seltzer-Clinton, Peter Odhiambo, David Deroo-Kury, Samantha Kotz, Graham Yu, Tayler Dawe, Zach Paine, Bridget Mousaw, Tori Demian-Popescu, Endi Guo, Tamsin Spiller, Marlena Berger, Oliver Smink, Corban Vogler, Elise Keefer, Caleb Mendler, Annie Guo, Bill Chang, and Elizabeth Norris. The alternates are: Oscar Libman and Mary Liz MacAdam.

On Nov. 7 to 10, Brighton High School senior Jaz Koft (tympani) will participate in the NAfME All-National Honors Symphonic Orchestra in Orlando, Florida.

On Nov. 15 and 16, students in grades 10-12 will participate in the NYSSMA Senior High Area All-State Festival at Letchworth Central School District. They are: Eliana Alweis, Ka-Hyun Nam, Zhuorui Ye, Andrew Guo, Henry Berger, Lizzy Bernold, Hayden Lieb, Alex Paine, Thomas Rich, Ben Sneider, Ian Doctor, Teddy Bernold, Sabine Lucas, Brayden Mand, Sofia Veneziani-Flowe, Harry Franklin, William Fox, Emilia DelVecchio, Allison Grosser, Niamh McDade Clay, Elias Putney, Jess Williams, Marina Zapesochny, and Karolina Zibuck.

On Dec. 5 to 8, seven BHS students will participate in the NYSSMA Conference All-State at the Rochester Convention Center. They are: Benjamin Sneider (trombone), Jess Williams (tenor 2), Henry Berger (French horn), Lizzy Bernold (French horn), Andrew Guo (violin), Ka-Hyun Nam (violin), and Hayden Lieb (clarinet). The alternates are: William Fox (tenor 1), Harry Franklin (oboe), and Sofia Veneziani-Flowe (clarinet).