Return to Headlines

BHS Students Recognized in National Merit Scholarship Program

Eighteen Brighton High School students were recognized in the 2020 National Merit Scholarship Program.

Seniors Henry Berger, Megan Cooper, Maya Finnigan, Sawyer Hall, Hayden Lieb, and Alexander Paine qualified as Semifinalists in the program. A total of 16,000 U.S. semifinalists have been chosen to compete for 7,600 National Merit Scholarships worth more than $31 million. They were filtered from an initial pool of more than 1.5 million students who took the 2018 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test. This year’s semifinalists scored in the top 1 percent nationally on the exam. Winners of National Merit Scholarships will be named in the spring of 2020.

Seniors Kaidan Capossere, Nitin Chockalingam, Emilia DelVecchio, Harry Franklin, Charles Hacker, Emily Han, Samiha Islam, Hassan Mohiuddin, Ka-Hyun Nam, Jake Shapira, Liam Smith, and Thomas Xue qualified as Commended Students in the Program. Each of these students are being awarded a Letter of Commendation for outstanding performance on the test. These students placed in the top 50,000 students.