Return to Headlines

BHS Students Recognized by National Merit Scholarship Corporation

Brighton High School student Sawyer Hall was selected as a winner of the National Merit $2,500 Scholarship. This Scholarship is underwritten by National Merit Scholarship Corporation (NMSC) with its own funds. About 7,500 students receive scholarships. 

Henry Berger, Megan Cooper, Maya Finnigan, Hayden Lieb, and Alexander Paine were announced as Finalists for a scholarship. About 15,000 students are selected as finalists. 

Additionally, Kaidan Capossere, Nitin Chockalingam, Emilia DelVecchio, Harry Franklin, Charles Hacker, Emily Han, Samiha Islam, Hassan Mohiuddin, Ka-Hyun Nam, Jake Shapira, Liam Smith, and Thomas Xue were announced as Commended Students. Only the top 50,000 students are selected as Commended students. 

Over 1.5 million juniors in about 21,000 high schools entered the 2020 National Merit Scholarship Program by taking the 2018 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT), which served as an initial screen of program entrants.