Return to Headlines

BHS Student Earns Study Trip to Germany

Over 100 students from Brighton High School participated in this year’s National German Exam offered by the American Association of Teachers of German (AATG). The AATG is a competitive and difficult exam that is made up of authentic audio, video, and written sources to test students’ knowledge and understanding of German.

Frau Dr. Geiger is excited to announce that Elise Hosmer won and accepted a scholarship for a study trip to Germany. Hosmer is among the 58 students selected from across the United States to receive an all-expenses paid summer study trip to Germany. The trip includes round‐trip air transportation to Germany, a homestay in a host family, and excursions to places of cultural and historical significance.

Additionally, several Brighton students at the different levels were able to score high on this year’s AATG exam. Their hard work and dedication to learning the German language and culture paid off and they were awarded gold, silver, or bronze medals and achievement certificates. These are the students who were awarded medals and certificates for their outstanding and excellent commitment and progress in learning the German language and culture.

Level 2: Filip Stefankovic, Noah Busch, Aung Ooa, Trevor Nolan, Carol Bennett, Tejus Reddy, Jackson Wojtovich, Grace Mille, Marie Mikols, Isaiah Carri, Logan Serve, Ben Rizzone, John Luger, Maria Shalaeva, Emma Goerlich, Claire Fine, Ax Lofthouse, Dawson Greene, Brendan Jacoby, and Lucien Robinson.

Level 3: Ben Mahmutovic, Elise Hosmer, Vivienne Biedenkopf, Evan Hoefen, Katie Seymore, Zac Oravec, Frances Lovett, Lauren Russell, Lisa Xu, Trevor Serve, Phoebe Martin, Graham Yu, Henry Swing, Maisen Hochheimer, Ella Beyers, Mila Lobos, and Scarlett Wilder.

Level 4: Tyler Goerlich, Lily Coyne, Quentin Parks, Zach Paine, Claire Chambers, Benjamin Remmel, Una Gogstetter, Wyatt Robinson, Joanna Frank, Toby Mathis, Vincent Hunt, Caleb Mendler, Bill Cheng, Evan Perrilleon, Jayden Vogler, Markian Dwulit, Mollie Skolnik, Aidan Sharp, and Saniya Bhagwat.

Elise Hosmer won and accepted a scholarship for a study trip to Germany