Skip to main content

Glossary of Terms

Glossary of Terms

Explanations of acronyms and commonly-used words in Brighton schools.

AIS: Academic Intervention Services -Services intended to assist students who are at risk of not achieving the State Learning Standards in English/language arts, mathematics, social studies and/or science, or who are at risk of not gaining the knowledge and skills needed to meet or exceed designated performance levels on state assessments. Academic Intervention Services shall be made available to English Language Learners and students with disabilities.  In the case of AIS being provided to students with disabilities, services will be provided on the same basis as those provided to non-disabled students, as long as those services are consistent with the student’s individualized education program.

AP: Advanced Placement - College-level Courses that can be taken in high school. Courses are overseen by the College Board.

APPR: Annual Professional Performance Review

ASI: Assistant Superintendent of Instruction

B&G: Buildings and Grounds

BCSD: Brighton Central School District – A public school district located in Brighton, N.Y. We have an enrollment of about 3,800 students.

BHS: Brighton High School – Brighton’s school serving grades 9-12.

BOE: Board of Education – Locally elected board that makes decisions regarding the local system of schools.

BSC: Brighton Support Center

BTA: The Brighton Teachers Association – A Union of teaching professionals (teachers, speech language pathologists, nurses, academic support instructors, social workers, counselors, and school psychologists), committed to excellence in our schools. 

CCLT: Culture Climate Leadership Team -

CPSE: Committee on Pre School Special Education

CRPS: Council Rock Primary School – Brighton’s school serving grades K-2.

DASA: Dignity for All Students - New York State’s Dignity for All Students Act seeks to provide the State’s public elementary and secondary school students with a safe and supportive environment free from discrimination, intimidation, taunting, harassment, and bullying on school property, a school bus and/or at a school function. The Dignity Act also amended Section 801-a of New York State Education Law regarding instruction in civility, citizenship, and character education by expanding the concepts of tolerance, respect for others and dignity to include: an awareness and sensitivity in the relations of people, including but not limited to, different races, weights, national origins, ethnic groups, religions, religious practices, mental or physical abilities, sexual orientations, gender identity, and sexes.

ELA: English Language Arts: Study of the English language, reading, writing, speaking, and listening.

ENL: English as a New Language: Students who are learning to speak, read, and write the English language.

ESS: Extended Studies Services: The District’s Enrichment and Gifted & Talented Services.

504: Section 504 of the Federal Rehabilitation Act of 1973 bans discrimination on the basis of physical or mental disability in federally funded programs.

FERPA: Family Educational Rights & Privacy Act 

FRES: French Road Elementary School – Brighton’s school serving grades 3-5.

IEP: Individual Education Plan: The IEP is an annual plan which must, by law, be written for each student receiving special education services. It describes the unique needs of the student and the manner in which those needs will be met. The IEP is a legal document so adherence to regulations for its development and its content is critical.

ILT: Instructional Leadership Team

MTSS: Multi-Tiered System of Supports

NYSED: New York State Education Department 

ODE: Outdoor Education

PLT: Professional Learning Team

PTSA: Brighton’s Parent Teacher Student Association.

RTI:  Response to Intervention is a process where children at risk of not meeting state standards are offered intense, individualized academic intervention. Student progress is monitored to see if response to this intervention yields adequate academic growth.  Services are provided using a three-tier system, each one defined by the level of support and the intensity of that support.

SBET: School Based Equity Team

SEL: Social-Emotional Learning – The process of developing the self-awareness, self-control, and interpersonal skills that are vital for school, work and life success.

TCMS: Twelve Corners Middle School – Brighton’s school serving grades 6-8.